Thursday, February 23, 2012

Download "Flinty" by Anya Marina

Anya Marina

Portland based, singer-songwriter, Anya Marina is gearing up to release her third album on March 13th, titled, FELONY FLATS via Atlantic/Chop Shop Records.  The self-produced album – which follows 2009’s acclaimed label debut, SLOW & STEADY SEDUCTION: PHASE II sees the multi-talented Marina joined by some of the Pacific Northwest’s finest musicians, including guitarist Cody Votolato (Blood Brothers, Telekinesis), bassist Jeff Bond, drummer Joe Plummer (Modest Mouse, Mister Heavenly), and Blitzen Trapper’s Eric Earley, who contributes additional piano and guitars.

Anya describes the inspiration behind the album as “a map of my darkest hallways, my deepest—and sometimes ugliest--yearnings, and my most glaring mistakes. It chronicles a time of profound loss. During this time, I lost friends and family, I lost my way--risked losing nearly everything—and then slowly, piece by piece and step by arduous step, found my ‘way back home.’ It was a difficult journey, but it was also my proudest. It’s the album of which I am most proud all around—sonically, creatively, thematically, lyrically.”
Buy the single for "Notice Me"